LendenClub Turned Profitable. ₹28.6 Cr PAT on ₹241 Cr Income, From a -₹10.6 Cr Loss.
LendenClub revenue, PAT, debt and cash flow, from the Standalone audited financial statements FY2025, Innofin Solutions Private Limited.
| Metric | Reported(Narrative) | Economic Reality |
|---|---|---|
| Total Income (FY25) | ₹241.38 Cr | up 34% from ₹179.90 Cr |
| Revenue from Operations | ₹226.90 Cr | up 28% from ₹177.36 Cr |
| - Commission Charges | ₹96.42 Cr | approximately flat (FY24: ₹98.11 Cr) |
| - Registration Charges | ₹60.78 Cr | up 115% from ₹28.27 Cr |
| - Loan Processing Fees | ₹69.70 Cr | up 37% from ₹50.98 Cr |
| Other Income | ₹14.49 Cr | up from ₹2.55 Cr (+469%) |
| - Sale of Trademark to Holding Company (one-time) | ₹8.98 Cr | intercompany, not in FY24 |
| - Interest on Fixed Deposits | ₹5.47 Cr | from ₹2.54 Cr |
| Employee Benefits Expense | ₹13.50 Cr | up 254% from ₹3.81 Cr |
| - Salaries and Wages | ₹6.20 Cr | up 212% from ₹1.99 Cr |
| - ESOP Charge (new) | ₹5.44 Cr | non-cash; ₹0 in FY24 |
| Finance Costs | ₹0.07 Cr | down from ₹0.47 Cr |
| Depreciation & Amortisation | ₹1.23 Cr | flat from ₹1.11 Cr |
| Commission Expense (payouts to partners) | ₹40.04 Cr | down 57% from ₹94.07 Cr |
| Other Expenses | ₹146.28 Cr | up 60% from ₹91.22 Cr |
| - Advertisement Expenses (within Other) | ₹42.00 Cr | up 47% from ₹28.58 Cr |
| - Technical Expenses (within Other) | ₹65.44 Cr | up 120% from ₹29.80 Cr |
| - Brand Royalty Fees (new, to holding company) | ₹1.50 Cr | ₹0 in FY24 |
| Total Expenses | ₹201.12 Cr | up only 5% from ₹190.68 Cr |
| Profit Before Tax | +₹40.26 Cr | from -₹10.77 Cr (turnaround) |
| Current Tax | ₹11.72 Cr | ₹0 in FY24 |
| Deferred Tax Credit (P&L) | -₹0.08 Cr | small credit; balance-sheet DTA grew ₹75 Cr separately |
| Profit After Tax (FY25) | +₹28.62 Cr | swung from -₹10.65 Cr loss |
| EPS (Basic and Diluted, ₹) | ₹1,563.93 | from -₹1,025.85 |
| Net Worth | ₹57.63 Cr | up ₹34 Cr from ₹23.57 Cr |
| Long-term Borrowings | ₹0 | essentially zero |
| Cash and Equivalents | ₹2.66 Cr | down from ₹10.97 Cr |
| Deferred Tax Assets (Net, Balance Sheet) | ₹99.16 Cr | up ₹74.96 Cr from ₹24.20 Cr |
| Statutory Reserve Transfer (per Section 45-IC) | ₹5.72 Cr | FY24: ₹0.43 Cr (20% of PAT) |
| Holding Company | Vartis Platforms Private Limited | wholly-owned subsidiary structure |
The 30-Second Summary
LendenClub's FY25 audit records a swing from a ₹10.65 Cr loss to a ₹28.62 Cr profit, on total income of ₹241.38 Cr.
-
PAT swung +₹39 Cr. From -₹10.65 Cr to +₹28.62 Cr. The directors' report calls FY25 "an eventful and transformative year."
-
The dominant driver is on the cost side. Commission expense paid to partners fell 57% (₹94.07 Cr to ₹40.04 Cr), a ₹54.03 Cr reduction. Commission revenue stayed flat at ₹96.42 Cr. The net commission margin moved from approximately ₹2 Cr to ₹56 Cr in a single year.
-
Total income +34%; total expenses +5%. Income grew ₹61.48 Cr; expenses grew ₹10.44 Cr. The arithmetic produces the ₹51 Cr pre-tax swing.
-
One-time and non-cash items worth flagging: ₹8.98 Cr one-time gain on sale of trademark to the holding company (Vartis Platforms); ₹5.44 Cr new employee stock option plan (ESOP) charge (non-cash); a new ₹1.50 Cr brand-royalty fee now payable to the same holding company.
-
Balance sheet: net worth ₹57.63 Cr (up ₹34 Cr); zero long-term debt; cash ₹2.66 Cr (down from ₹10.97 Cr). Deferred tax assets balance grew ₹75 Cr; the P&L deferred tax line was only ₹0.08 Cr.
What This Audit Captures
- Legal entity: Innofin Solutions Private Limited, Maharashtra-incorporated 2015.
- Operating brand: LendenClub, a P2P lending marketplace.
- Regulatory status: RBI-registered NBFC-P2P. FY25 statutory reserve transfer of ₹5.72 Cr per Section 45-IC of the RBI Act (20% of PAT) confirms NBFC-P2P registration.
- Holding structure: wholly-owned subsidiary of Vartis Platforms Private Limited (formerly Lenden Club Techserve Private Limited). Two related-party transactions visible in FY25: (a) sale of trademark to the holding company for ₹8.98 Cr; (b) new brand-royalty fee of ₹1.50 Cr payable to the same parent.
- Audit framework: Accounting Standards under Indian GAAP (filed under regular annual filing, not filing data).
- Subsidiary footprint: none. The standalone is the operating entity for the LendenClub platform.
The core insight
A P2P marketplace that turned profitable. The audit records the turnaround; it also records two related-party items with the holding company that the headline P&L does not call out.
The Turnaround: Where the ₹39 Cr Swing Came From
Total Income
₹179.90 → ₹241.38 Cr
+34%; ₹61 Cr growth
Total Expenses
₹190.68 → ₹201.12 Cr
+5% only; ₹10 Cr growth
Pre-Tax Profit
-₹10.77 → +₹40.26 Cr
₹51 Cr swing
Tax Expense
-₹0.12 → +₹11.64 Cr
current tax of ₹11.72 Cr appeared (FY24: zero)
Profit After Tax
-₹10.65 → +₹28.62 Cr
₹39 Cr swing; turnaround year
The headline arithmetic: income +₹61 Cr; expenses +₹10 Cr; pre-tax profit moved +₹51 Cr; current tax of ₹11.72 Cr appeared (a profitable entity now pays tax); PAT moved +₹39 Cr.
The cost-side composition shift is where the year was actually decided.
Commission expense ₹94 Cr → ₹40 Cr while commission revenue stayed flat at ₹96 Cr
The single largest movement on the P&L is the line item described as Commission Expense in the audited statements. It fell from ₹94.07 Cr in FY24 to ₹40.04 Cr in FY25, a ₹54.03 Cr reduction.
On the revenue side, Commission Charges (the fees LendenClub earns from customers on transactions arranged) stayed approximately flat: ₹98.11 Cr (FY24) to ₹96.42 Cr (FY25). The net commission margin therefore moved from approximately ₹2 Cr (FY24: ₹98.11 Cr in vs ₹94.07 Cr out) to approximately ₹56 Cr (FY25: ₹96.42 Cr in vs ₹40.04 Cr out).
That single net-margin shift accounts for the bulk of the ₹39 Cr PAT swing. The audit reports the two lines; the directors' report describes FY25 as "eventful and transformative" but does not state the underlying reason for the Commission Expense reduction. The article reports the movement; the audit's notes contain the line-item description but do not explain the year-on-year compression.
Registration charges +115% and processing fees +37%; commission revenue stayed flat
The composition of revenue from operations shifted materially during the year:
- Commission charges: ₹98.11 → ₹96.42 Cr (approximately flat). Activity-linked commissions on transactions arranged through the platform held at last year's run-rate.
- Registration charges: ₹28.27 → ₹60.78 Cr (+115%). Onboarding fees more than doubled. This is typically a customer-acquisition-linked fee, charged when new users sign up to the platform or list as lenders/borrowers.
- Loan Processing Fees: ₹50.98 → ₹69.70 Cr (+37%). Per-transaction processing fees grew materially.
The revenue mix moved away from activity-led commission and toward onboarding-and-processing monetisation. Registration charges grew from 16% of revenue from operations in FY24 to 27% in FY25; commission charges fell from 55% to 42%. The article reports the composition shift; the audit does not explain whether this reflects a pricing-strategy change, a different customer-acquisition channel mix producing different fee streams, or a regulatory-compliance-driven fee restructuring.
The relevance: economics that depend on registration and processing fees are different from economics that depend on commission flow. Registration revenue is largely one-time per customer; commission revenue is recurring per transaction. A revenue mix shifting toward one-time-per-customer monetisation has different forward implications from a mix dominated by transaction-led recurring fees.
Commission Expense fell ₹54 Cr; Advertisement Expenses grew ₹13.4 Cr in the same year
A pattern visible across two expense lines deserves attention:
- Commission Expense (payouts in the P&L, line item described in the audited statements): ₹94.07 Cr (FY24) → ₹40.04 Cr (FY25), a ₹54.03 Cr reduction.
- Advertisement Expenses (within Other Expenses, Note 20): ₹28.58 Cr (FY24) → ₹42.00 Cr (FY25), a ₹13.42 Cr increase (+47%).
The combined direction is consistent with a cost-mix migration during the year: spending on a commission-bearing intermediated channel compressed, while direct advertising spending expanded. A possible operating interpretation is a shift from intermediated customer acquisition (paying partners per acquired customer or per transaction routed) toward direct customer acquisition (paying media platforms for direct reach). The net is materially favourable: ₹54 Cr saved on commission against ₹13 Cr added to advertising equals a ~₹41 Cr net cost reduction across the two lines.
The audit does not state the migration explicitly. The article observes the two line-item movements; the operating interpretation that connects them sits in management disclosures outside the audited statements. The two lines together account for approximately 40% of total expense base, so the directional read is material to the overall cost composition.
The Items the Headline Doesn't Show
Sale of Trademark to Holding Company (one-time gain)
+₹8.98 Cr
intercompany; in Other Income line
ESOP Charge (non-cash, new in FY25)
-₹5.44 Cr
in Employee Benefits Expense; ₹0 in FY24
Brand Royalty Fees (new recurring expense)
-₹1.50 Cr
payable to holding company; ₹0 in FY24
Provision for RBI Penalty (FY24 only)
₹2.00 Cr (FY24)
did not recur in FY25
₹8.98 Cr trademark sale to parent; ₹1.50 Cr royalty now payable to the same parent
Two items appear in FY25 that connect LendenClub to its parent Vartis Platforms Private Limited:
-
Sale of Trademark to Holding Company. Other income (Note 17) includes ₹8.98 Cr classified as 'Sale of Trademark to Holding Company.' The legal entity Innofin Solutions transferred trademark ownership to its parent during FY25; the consideration received flows through other income as a one-time gain.
-
Brand Royalty Fees. Other expenses (Note 20) includes a new ₹1.50 Cr line, 'Brand Royalty Fees,' that did not exist in FY24. The legal entity now pays a recurring royalty for the brand it previously owned and just sold to the parent.
The combination is the classic intercompany IP-transfer pattern. One-time, the parent records the trademark as an asset and LendenClub records the gain. Recurring, the parent earns a royalty stream and LendenClub bears a small expense. The audit reports both items; the directors' report does not explicitly call out the structural shift.
The reported FY25 PAT of ₹28.62 Cr includes the ₹8.98 Cr one-time gain in other income, which is partially offset by ~₹0.30 Cr of brand royalty expense recurring (₹1.50 Cr full-year basis but only ₹0.30 Cr if the structure took effect partway through). Excluding the one-time gain and treating the full ₹1.50 Cr royalty as recurring, the underlying operating result would be approximately ₹21 Cr, still meaningfully profitable but smaller than the headline ₹28.62 Cr.
The article reports both the headline PAT and the composition. The audit's other-income and other-expenses notes contain the line-item detail.
A balance-sheet movement that did not flow through the current-year P&L
The balance sheet at March 2025 shows Deferred Tax Assets (Net) of ₹99.16 Cr (FY24: ₹24.20 Cr), an increase of ₹74.96 Cr. During the same period, the P&L Deferred Tax line shows only -₹0.08 Cr (a small credit).
The filing reflects a large balance-sheet increase in deferred tax assets that did not materially flow through the current-year P&L. The detailed reconciliation sits in Note 12 of the audited statements; this article does not reproduce it.
The recognised DTA is large relative to the current earnings base. The article reports the magnitude; the recoverability assessment sits in the audit's deferred-tax note.
What FY25 records as the operating recurring picture
Total income ₹241 Cr (+34%). Revenue ₹227 Cr. Commission expense ₹40 Cr (halved). Net commission margin ₹56 Cr. Operating leverage on cost discipline; total expenses up only 5%.
What FY25 records that the headline doesn't separate
₹8.98 Cr one-time gain on trademark sale to holding company (other income). ₹5.44 Cr non-cash ESOP charge. ₹1.50 Cr new brand-royalty expense to holding company. ₹75 Cr DTA balance increase that didn't flow through P&L. Statutory reserve transfer ₹5.72 Cr per RBI Section 45-IC.
“Commission payouts halved. Commission revenue stayed flat. The net margin moved from ₹2 Cr to ₹56 Cr in a single year. That is the audit's central FY25 fact.”
UnpopularVoice editorial read
About the author
Founder & Editor, UnpopularVoice
ParthSarthy P reads what the audit says, not what the press release claims. He writes forensic teardowns of Indian startups on UnpopularVoice, starting with the balance sheet and ending where the numbers stop.
More from P2P Lending